Derrian and Larry


The Southeastern Conference (SEC) together with the College Football Playoffs (CFP) Foundation are committed to supporting teachers and bringing awareness to the importance of education. The organizations honor teachers as part of its Extra Yard For Teachers initiative.

Representing the University of Arkansas and nominated by the Student Athlete Development Department, 2022 Magnolia graduate and Razorback basketball player, Derrian Ford, chose Larry Dunn as a teacher who has had a major impact in his life.  Larry is currently the Director of Performing Arts for the Magnolia School District. To honor these special teachers, an Extra Yard for Teachers story will be broadcast on the SEC network each Friday of the college football season. The broadcast will feature a story from Derrian about the impact Mr. Dunn has had on his life. The story will be narrated by the SEC Network broadcasters, a video will be played of Derrian's story, and Larry will be showcased via photograph(s).

 In addition to this recognition, Magnolia High School will be awarded a grant in the amount of $6,500 to be used for the purpose of school supplies and materials through

 The College Football Playoff (CFP) Foundation is the community-engagement arm of the CFP with its purpose in support of PK-12 educators across the country. The CFP Foundation works in partnership with institutions of higher education, sports organizations, corporations, and nonprofits to execute its initiatives and support positive educational outcomes.  The CFP Foundation’s primary cause platform, Extra Yard for Teachers, is dedicated to elevating the teaching profession by inspiring and empowering teachers in four focus areas:

  • Resources
  • Recognition
  • Recruitment
  • Professional Development

 Derrian and Larry’s story will be aired on the SEC Network during two segments on Friday, September 23.  The first segment will be during SEC This Morning between 7:30 am – 7:50 am CST.  The second airing will be during the Paul Finebaum Show between 4:20 pm – 4:40 pm CST.