Mike Waters - Magnolia School Board president

The Arkansas School Boards Association (ASBA) announced that January is School Board Member Recognition Month in Arkansas.  School board members play an essential role in our community. The Magnolia School District will join other districts in Arkansas in celebration of our board by thanking them for the time, talents, and knowledge they bring to our district and for their commitment to the families and children of our community.  The elected school board members give our Magnolia citizens a voice in education decision making.  Superintendent John Ward stated, “While we make a special effort to show our appreciation in January, their contribution is a year-round commitment.”


The members serving the Magnolia School District are Emily Jester, Roger Loper, Jason Ray, Steven Souter, and Mike Waters. 


The school board member spotlight for today is Mike Waters.  Mr. Waters is a native of Magnolia and graduated from Magnolia High School.  He is a retired banker and former president of Bancorp South of Magnolia. Mike was first elected to the Magnolia School Board in1996 and serves Zone 3.  He currently serves as president of the board and his term expires in 2027.